Christopher S. Stewart

Jungleland: A Mysterious Lost City, a WWII Spy, and a True Story of Deadly Adventure

Deep inside the little Amazon, the jungles of Honduras' "Mosquito Coast" - one of the largest, wildest, and most impenetrable stretches of tropical land in the world-lies the fabled city of Ciudad Blanca: the White City. For centuries, it has lured explorers, including Spanish conquistador Herman Cortes. Some intrepid souls got lost within its dense canopy; some disappeared. Others never made it out alive. Then, in 1939, an American explorer and spy named Theodore Morde claimed that he had located this El Dorado-like city. Yet before he revealed its location, Morde died under strange circumstances, giving credence to those who believe that the spirits of the Ciudad Blanca killed him.

Is this lost city real or only a tantalizing myth? What secrets does the jungle hold? What continues to draw explorers into the unknown jungleland at such terrific risk? In this absorbing true-life thriller, journalist Christopher S. Stewart sets out to find answers - a white-knuckle adventure that combines Morde's wild, enigmatic tale with Stewart's own epic journey to find the truth about the White City.

Praise for Jungleland

“A fascinating and gripping account, a true to life Indiana Jones adventure.”
– Douglas Preston, author of The Monster of Florence
“A rip-snorting journey into a world few of us will experience, alongside a boon companion who’s searching for answers not only in the rainforest but in his life. Readers who loved ‘The Lost City of Z’ and ‘Turn Right at Machu Picchu’ have found their next great true adventure in this terrific book.”
– Mitchell Zuckoff, author of Lost in Shangri-La.
“This stunning book takes you deep into the jungles of Honduras, telling a story that explains all of Europe's adventures on this side of the world: the quest for a lost city full of gold, a search that, in the end, reveals the treasure to be the journey itself. You've got to read this.”
– Rich Cohen, author of The Fish That Ate The Whale: The Life and Times of America's Banana King
“A tale for the ages.”
– Mark Adams, author of Turn Right at Macchu Pichu
“I dare you to put this book down.”
– Evan Wright, author of Generation Kill

Order Now

Amazon Barnes and Noble Borders Indie Bound Powells